Manga · Reviews

Merry Checker: Playing right in to my heart

It’s time for Manga Monday! Except it’s technically Tuesday – sorry about that, I was super tired last night. Anyway, I’ve always been a bit of a fujoshi, but never really reviewed any BL manga or series on my blog. Anyway, I figured it was high time to feature one of my favourite authors, Suzuki Tsuta. Tsuta has made a number of fantastic, series that really pull on the heart strings. One of the best ones is short series called ‘Merry Checker’

Suzuki Tsuta makes my heart beat!

‘Merry Checker’ features the love story of two bloggers – Shio (literally meaning salt) and Merry Checker Shio and MiyaMiya. Shio, is a salary man, an actually a co-worker of a character from another one of Tsuta’s series, Sangen Tonari no Tooi Hito. Shio is invited to an IRL meeting amongst a few other bloggers, there he meets Miya, a giant man with a gentle personality. 

The 5 chapter series follows their budding romance. Their comfortable friendship eventually develops into something more. And Shio comes to terms with his feelings for Miya. Tsuta perfectly represents the inner turmoil of Shio, but also the sweetness of his relationship with Miya. There’s no awkward dialogue, and by about chapter 2 you can see Miya and Shio seamlessly acting like an old married couple. Even scenes of them just watching a TV series together make the fan grip the manga’s pages – everything is just so incredibly cute!

Shio and Miya

Shio and Miya are almost from two completely different planets. Shio’s blog focuses on making astute, and sometimes harsh observations of the people around him. He’s cool and aloof. Miya on the other hand, was originally mistaken as a high school girl. He’s a little absent minded, and posts parts of his upcoming novel.

Together they are the perfect couple – complimenting each other’s strengths and weaknesses. Miya is shy and loving, while Shio is assertive but also hesitant with his feelings. It’s really fun to see the banter between the two of them, and how they play off one another.

Merry Checker Miya blushing.jpg

 

Final Thoughts

I always enjoy any series by Suzuki Tsuta, but this one is definitely one of  my favourites. I only wish the series was a tad longer, I fell in love with these characters and would have loved to see more of them.  9/10 

If you want to keep up to date with my anime and manga reviews please click subscribe on the right. You can subscribe using either your WordPress account or email address :)! 

7 thoughts on “Merry Checker: Playing right in to my heart

  1. This one was such a sweet and cute one, for sure! Aaah (。♥‿♥。)
    I like dark, twisted mangas, but it’s the sweetest/cutest that end up having a special place in my heart for being so warm and cleansing (◍•ᴗ•◍)❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! I’m the same, I always read horror series or series where the characters have to fight for their lives. But any sweet romance manga just turns me into an emotional puddle!

      Like

Leave a Reply

