Anime

Summer Anime Impressions FINAL PART: Danganronpa 3, 91 Days & Hitori no Shita: The Outcast

WOOT! It’s the end of my Summer Anime Season First Impressions series!  You can read all about my thoughts on other series here  Part 1   Part 2  Part 3. Also sorry this one is a tad late – was waiting for Danganronpa Zetsubou-hen to come out >_<!

You already know the drill , but super quick recap:

  • I didn’t review all the series – as I know that some I definitely won’t like (such as harem, or really intense shoo ones)
  • At the of this review I’ll let you know my plans for the rest of the season
  • You can check out the full list of summer anime series at Anichart.

Just a quick rundown of my voting scales:

0-2: Wow that’s part of my life I’ll never get back

2-3: Reasonable, would need to watch the next one or two episodes to see if it’s worth continuing

4-5: That was absolutely fantastic! Give me the next episode now!

Danganronpa 3: The End of Kibougamine Gakuen – Mirai-hen

Danganronpa 3 Mirai Hen Hope.png

 

Fans of the first Danganronpa anime (aka Danganronpa: Kibou no Gakuen to Zetsubou no Koukousei The Animation) rejoice! The series has returned back to our screens, this time with two separate series! The first one is Mirai hen, which occurs after the second Danganronpa psp game. But never fear, I don’t think you need to have played the game to fully grasp the show. Although if you’re keen, it’s currently on sale on Steam, and also you can watch playthroughs on youtube 🙂

Some quick background that will make watching the episode make a bit more sense. Let me know down in the comments if I missed anything – this is just what I pieced together! Following the end of the original series, and the death of Junko Enoshima, the Remnants of Despair – a group of super High School students, who only want to create despair in the world – are still going strong. Naeki (the main bro in the first season) has joined up with the  Future Foundation. A group focused on eliminating the Remnants of Despair, and bringing hope back into the world.

Danganronpa 3 Mirai Hen Monokuma.png

Now onto the actual episode: Naeki has been accused of harbouring the members of the Despair group and protecting them.  Just as he’s about to be questioned, the Future Foundation HQ is attacked – and lo and behold the members are thrown back into another survival game!

I really enjoyed this episode, the main problem was kind of piecing everything together. I really wished they had made an anime based on the second PSP game. Especially since the game isn’t even available in Australia! Overall a good 3.5/5

Danganronpa 3: The End of Kibougamine Gakuen – Zetsubou-hen

Danganronpa 3 zetsubou hen.png

I feel so incredibly lucky to have two Danganronpa series airing this season! So Zetsubou-hen is the prequel of all the Danganronpa series, so you definitely don’t need to play the second game for this one! Zetsubou-hen follows the original class that turned into Renmants of Despair, except in this series they’re all just super cheeky high school students.

Danganronpa 3 zetsubou hen rotten orange.png
The ultimate insult

Not much happens in the first episode, it’s literally an introduction to all the characters. Some of them look really interesting, although I’ve already forgotten their names, the High School Animal Keeper, and the High School Music person looks really epic. Just a warning, I got really frustrated in the episode, the High School Medic kept tripping over and there was gratuitous panty shots. I face palmed so hard. But other than that, looks like it’s gonna be an awesome season 3.5/5

91 Days

91 Days episode 1 Angelo.jpg

OKAY. This episode, oh my gosh, it was so beautiful. Just, I don’t know what it was about it, I just loved it. From the opening scene, I was like “yep, this one is my jam”. 91 days is set during prohibition (1920s). Avilio, is on the hunt for the mafia that years prior had murdered his entire family.

I watched this episode, still really sick with a cold, and it was jaw dropping. I’ve barely held on the last week, waiting for the next episode to come out. I loved the designs of the characters, the mafia backdrop, even the scenery is beautiful. It would have been good for maybe a little bit more context early on, I don’t know why but at first I thought we were in Italy! But still, really great episode, can’t wait to see what happens! 4/5

Hitori no Shita: The Outcast

Hitori no Shita epiosde 1.jpg

Zhang Chulan is on his way back to his hometown when he gets an unusual phone call. His grandfather’s grave has been dug up, and the body is nowhere to be seen! Furthermore, a sister he never knew about has suddenly appeared. Throw into the mix zombies, fighting and magical abilities – this was meant to be a pretty epic first episode. Except it wasn’t.

Usually first episodes are structured quite simply, to give audiences an idea of what the series will be like, and a general plot. Hitori no Shita jumped all over the place. One moment the woman was his sister, the next moment she wasn’t, one moment she was burying him alive, then saving him from zombies, then leaving him to die. The first episode literally just needed to introduce us to characters. Not create a season worth of confusion and drama in 25 minutes! Overall 1/5

Barakamon gif.gif

Plans for the season

Usually I’d do a review every few weeks but since I’ll be heading to Europe for the whole of next month, it’s gonna be a bit odd for July/August. My plan is to do a review in the last week of July, and then another when I’m back, in the first week of September. After that I’ll introduce a system where I go a, b ,c , a, b ,c  . I hope it works out :)!

Continue

Both Danganronpa: Recap every 2 episodes (A)

Orange: Recap every 3 episodes (B)

D.Gray man Hallow: Recap every 3 episodes (B)

Handa Kun: Recap every 4 episodes (C)

91 Days: Recap every 4 episode (C)

End of series review

Cheer Danshi

Fukigen na Mononokean

Fudanshi Koukou Seikatsu

Bananya: Depending if there’s significant plot development!

Dropped: 

Berserk – even though I enjoyed it, I think I’m going to have a lot of difficulty adjusting to the cgi style

Days – wasn’t very impressed by the characters

Taboo Tattoo – honestly a very ‘meh’ series

Servamp – looks interesting, but limited on time

Onara Gorou: this is the kind of show that people in hell would be forced to watch

Hitori no Shita: The Outcast – reasons above 🙂

THE END! 

What series are your favourite this season? Any that you think you’ll end up dropping?

If you want to keep up to date with my anime reviews for this season please click subscribe on the right. You can subscribe using either your WordPress account or email address :)! 

5 thoughts on “Summer Anime Impressions FINAL PART: Danganronpa 3, 91 Days & Hitori no Shita: The Outcast

Leave a Reply

