Anime

Thermae Romae – Time travelling with baths

Bored with your history books, and would rather get a quick run down on Roman baths by a gorgeous half naked Roman? Well, you’ve come to the wrong place – but you’ll still get the hot half naked Roman. Thermae Romae is based off a manga by Mari Yamasaki. It was then developed into a popular film of the same name.

Thermae Romae bathtub time travel.png

Lucius, is an architect of bath houses in Ancient Rome. The current Emperor has focused all architecture to be new and innovative, but Lucius is stuck with old designs. He desperately wants to build something new, and visits a new bath house with his friend. While there, he is magically teleported to Modern Day Japan at a bath house. There he learns about modern technology and is then transported back to Rome. He then tries to recreate the food, drinks and bath style he enjoyed. This is essentially the plot for all 3 episodes.

Thermae Romae beer.png

I’m torn on whether I actually liked this series or not. I really did enjoy seeing different Japanese bath styles, and the bath culture there. It was also an interesting comparison to the Ancient Roman bath culture. The series was often very tongue in cheek, and there were some jokes that some may find offensive. I didn’t really like Lucius character, actually he didn’t really have much of a character at all. I’m not sure if I would have liked the series to be longer so I could learn more about Lucius, but at the same time I wished it was shorter cause I found it a bit boring. Overall I’m very on the fence about this – I guess it’s an acquired taste 5/10

5 thoughts on “Thermae Romae – Time travelling with baths

Leave a Reply

