Miscellaneous

Melbourne Month 3!

Hi hi!

I just wanted to write a quick apology for not posting as much, and especially for not replying to people’s comments. Since my last post about Melbourne I’ve been feeling really off, and just not engaged with anything. Actually since that post, I’ve only done 5 posts in the last 1.5 months! I used to do 3 posts a week. But, I am slowly in the process of going through comments, and again, I’m really sorry. I love reading all your comments, and they mean a lot to me.

On to month 3 of living in Melbourne. Since I’ve been feeling really off this month, some of this stuff might sound like a bit of a downer. To lighten the mood I included a ‘5 favourite things this month’ inspired by another blogger called Lovely who does a 10 happy things each month.

You can check out my my other months went over here:

Month 1

Month 2

University

I’ve continued to do really well with all my university assignments! I’m really happy about it, so far I’m on a High Distinction average. One of my assignments I did on community radio, and my tutor suggested that I send it somewhere to be published. My seminar presentation that I was really worried about last month, went pretty well. The girl I was partnered with was really chill, and we worked together really well. I’ve got two final assignments to do and then I’m free! Well…kind of. I have to attend 2 on-campus days for my upcoming Hong Kong field school program. I’m really excited for it, haven’t been to HK for almost 5 years, but I’ve heard it’s changed a lot. But still should be a great experience.

tumblr_inline_niqrjrJ9EA1rre4xt.gif

Besides academics I was recently nominated to be on the post graduate student council! I put my name in just to try it out and was quite surprised when I found out I got in! I only know 3 people in my classes and asked them to vote for me, guess they passed the message on! Anyway so that should be really exciting to participate in too.

Personal

A few days after my previous post I was able to go home for a week and a bit. I had to put Merry in a cattery, which I really regretted. When I got her back she was caked in her own poop! I had to give her two baths to get rid of the crap and smell. But going back to Sydney was actually really nice, I got to hang out with my family, have some good food and meet up with my friends. This is probably gonna sound a bit callous but I didn’t realise how much I missed my friends until I actually saw them. When I went on exchange for 6 months, leaving my friends didn’t really matter to me. But moving to Melbourne and seeing them after 2 months just broke my heart knowing I’d leave them again. The last night before I came back to Melbourne I was crying.

tumblr_m9wjveIE2i1r00elk.gif

I have been trying to meet new people and hang out with them more. So I went with some girls in my class to cafes a few times and that was really fun. I’ve been on a few more friendship dates. So that’s all happening, slowly but surely. One reason I was actually feeling really awful this month was a really good friend of mine was ignoring my text messages, and I couldn’t understand why. I would see on her snapchat her posting pictures from her volunteering group having a fantastic time, and I’d text her and nothing. Anyway about a week and a half ago, she phoned me up and we talked for an hour. Apparently one of the guys in the volunteering group had been playing with her emotions and bullying her, making her life a living hell. If I ever see that guy in real life I’m gonna beat him so hard. So while I’m not glad that my friend had to go through all of that, I’m glad that I did get an explanation for why she wasn’t contacting me. We’re going to meet up after she comes back from her vacation (leaving this weekend), and I’m gonna help her block the guy on all her social media :D!

large

So just as I’m talking about how a guy hurt my friend so hard, I got some feels for a guy! Wait, lemme start at the beginning. So when I first started uni, at the orientation there was this guy there called…T. T literally took every girl’s breath away, some students even took pictures of him. So fast forward to this Monday, he and some other students had organised a meet & greet for my course. And wow, oh wow, I caught the feels so quickly. Someone asked him if he had a girlfriend, and he announced that he was single! I kid you not, within 10 minutes of announcing that, there was a line of girls asking him for his number! But I was too nervous to talk to him >_<! Next time I’ll try to win his heart 😛

Extra Stuff

One thing I have really been focused on in the last month is studying Japanese. I’m currently up to ‘week 11’ of the beginners course. By the time we get to ‘week 24’ we are meant to be able to pass the N5 exam. So far it’s really interesting, I found out my teacher was in a visual kei band and even cosplays as Gackt! Even more interesting, I found out my classmate is born on the same day as me, just a year younger! We’re almost born at the same time too, I was born at 8am and he was born at 6am.  I am still struggling with Kanji, but overall grammar and vocab has not been too bad.

I’ve also continued with my sewing, I just booked some more classes for next week! I’ve stopped drawing unfortunately, and again, my writing has been stalled. I did start playing Sims 4 though 😛

5 Favourite Things This Month

Yay! So below I list some things that have really lifted my spirits and made my excited this month :)!

  • Fellow blogger Leaf is currently on a study program in Japan and I am absolutely loving all her posts and tweets about her experiences! If you haven’t yet, please check out her posts & blog -they’re so much fun to read!
  • I’ve recently gotten hooked on blind box and gacha opening videos, my favourite is by Lorein’s toy box. She has such a fun bubbly personality, and she opens such a variety of boxes/ gacha. Check her out over here!
  • I found a really cute fabric store near me called ‘Darn Cheap Fabric‘, and yep I’ve been spending way too much time and money in there.
  • Another youtube series I’ve been obsessed with is ‘Buzzfeed Unsolved’ which looks at creepy cases that range from aliens, ghosts to even Bigfoot! This is my favourite episode!
  • Amazing green tea cafe! A little bit of shameless self promotion, but I found this really awesome green tea cafe in Melbourne that does really cute latte art. You can check out my post on my travel blog about it here.

Thank you for reading and I hope you all have a lovely month! Till next time 🙂

6 thoughts on “Melbourne Month 3!

  1. Oh my god girl I hear you! I didn’t realize how much I miss my friends until I read this! I;m glad 2 of them came with me but being away from them is heart breaking. I’m so sorry your friend had to deal with such an ass. Please punch his face in when you see him.

    And oooooo 😉 I hope things go well and this lovely man isn’t a dirty playboy. Good luck Cat I’m rooting for you! Just go up and say hey. The worst that could happen is he ignores you or is rude, and then you know he’s not worth your time xD

    I’m glad you’re finding my posts interesting and if you need any help with Japanese let me know! For kanji, I’d rec learning radicals if you can.

    Like

  2. There is absolutely no need to apologise at all. Blogging is a lot of fun, but in the end the real world will always be more important. It sounds like you have been having a really tough time, and I’m truly sorry to hear that. I hope things will turn over for the better soon. I am glad to read that there luckily have also been some good things that have happened to you. Please take good care of yourself, and never worry about not posting enough or not replying to comments: we will be here, and probably most of the people that are around and follow you will understand 😊

    Like

  3. Quality posts over quantity! I’m just glad you’re still doing the Melbourne updates ><
    I hope your tough time lets up soon and hopefully you can talk to that guy and that he's nice.

    Like

  4. That way you described the guy sound like something straight from a manga!!! People lining up and taking photos!? Whaat! Good luck! 🙂

    Also, I’m glad you and your friend had that hour long conversation. Now you know that she didn’t mean to ignore your messages. ^^

    The latte looks so adorable and delicious! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

